Eagle Species

Genus Geranoaetus

Black-chested Buzzard-eagle, Geranoaetus melanoleucus

Genus Harpyhaliaetus (Solitary Eagles)

Eagle Information Page

Steller's Sea Eagle, Haliaeetus pelagicus

Genus Morphnus

Crested Eagle, Morphnus guianensis

Genus Harpia

Harpy Eagle, Harpia harpyja

Genus Pithecophaga

Philippine Eagle, Pithecophaga jefferyi

Genus Harpyopsis

New Guinea Eagle, Harpyopsis novaeguineae

Genus Oroaetus

Black-and-chestnut Eagle, Oroaetus isidori

Genus Spizaetus (Hawk Eagles)

Martial Eagle

Genus Lophaetus

Long-crested Eagle, Lophaetus occipitalis – may be part of Ictinaetus

Philippine Serpent-Eagle - Spilornis holospilus

Genus Stephanoaetus

Crowned Hawk-eagle, Stephanoaetus coronatus

Genus Polemaetus

Martial Eagle, Polemaetus bellicosus

Genus Hieraaetus (Hawk Eagles)

Genus Aquila

Genus Ictinaetus

Black Eagle, Ictinaetus malayensis

Genus Haliaeetus (Sea / Fish Eagles)

Genus Ichthyophaga (Fish Eagles or Fishing Eagles)

Subfamily Circaetinae: Snake-eagles

Genus Terathopius

Bateleur, Terathopius ecaudatus

Genus Circaetus (Snake Eagles)

Genus Spilornis (Serpent Eagles)

Genus Eutriorchis

Madagascar Serpent-eagle, Eutriorchis astur

Genus Harpagornis (extinct)

Haast’s Eagle, Harpagornis moorei – possibly belongs in either Hieraaetus or Aquila

Photo of author

Team Beauty of Birds

Beautyofbirds.com's team of experts includes veterinarians, biologists, environmentalists and active bird watchers. All put together, we have over half a century of experience in the birding space.

You can meet our team here.