Penguin General InfoPenguin Species & Photo Gallery

Royal Penguins

The genus Eudyptes (“good diver”) contains six living species of penguins collectively known as crested penguins.



  • Family Spheniscidae

    • Fiordland Penguin, Eudyptes pachyrhynchus
    • Snares Penguin, Eudyptes robustus
    • Erect-crested Penguin, Eudyptes sclateri
    • (Southern) Rockhopper Penguin, Eudyptes chrysocome
      • Southern Rockhopper Penguin (Indian and Pacific Ocean), Eudyptes chrysocome filholi
      • Southern Rockhopper Penguin (Atlantic Ocean), Eudyptes chrysocome chrysocome
      • Northern Rockhopper Penguin or Mosely’s Penguin, Eudyptes (chrysocome) moselyi

      Royal Penguin, Eudyptes schlegeli – possibly just a morph (genetic mutation) of E. chrysolophus

    • Macaroni Penguin, Eudyptes chrysolophus
    • Chatham Islands Penguin, Eudyptes sp. : The Chatham Islands Penguin (Eudyptes sp.) was a species of penguin. It is known only from subfossil bones, but may have come extinct as recently as the late 19th century as a bird kept captive at some time between 1867 and 1872 might refer to this taxon. It appears to have been a distinct species, with a thin, slim and low bill. May


Please Note: The articles or images on this page are the sole property of the authors or photographers. Please contact them directly with respect to any copyright or licensing questions. Thank you.