Motmots or Momotidae

The Motmots (bird family Momotidae) are restricted to the Neotropics, which includes southern Mexico, Central and South America and the West Indies; although the largest diversity occurs in Middle America (Mexico, Central America, and sometimes including the West Indies).

These woodland or forest birds have colorful plumages and a heavy bill. All, except the Tody Motmot, have long tails sometimes with a racket-like tip. Motmots often move their tail back and forth.

Blue-crowned Motmot, Momotus momota, Aguas Calientes, Peru (some books call this Peruvian bird the Highland Motmot, Momotus aequatorialis

Recognized Species – Family Momotidae

  • Genus Hylomanes
    • Tody Motmot, Hylomanes momotula
  • Genus Aspatha
    • Blue-throated Motmot, Aspatha gularis
  • Genus Momotus
    • Russet-crowned Motmot, Momotus mexicanus
    • Blue-crowned Motmot, Momotus momota
  • Genus Baryphthengus
    • Rufous Motmot, Baryphthengus martii
    • Rufous-capped Motmot, Baryphthengus ruficapillus
  • Genus Electron
  • Genus Eumomota
    • Turquoise-browed Motmot, Eumomota superciliosa

Nesting / Breeding

Motmots make their nests in tunnels in banks. The average clutch consists of 4 white eggs, which hatch after about 20 days. Both parents raise the young. The young fledge about 30 days later.

Diet / Feeding

They mostly feed on insects and lizard, but will also take fruit.

Photo of author

Team Beauty of Birds's team of experts includes veterinarians, biologists, environmentalists and active bird watchers. All put together, we have over half a century of experience in the birding space.

You can meet our team here.