Typical Owls – Bird Genus: Strix

The genus Strix comprises a group of typical owls the members of which are medium-large owls that lack the ear tufts typically associated with owls. They feed on small mammals, birds and reptiles.


  • Spotted Wood Owl, Strix seloputo
  • Mottled Wood Owl, Strix ocellata : A medium sized owl found in South Asia, where it inhabits in gardens and thin deciduous forests. They emit distinctive eerie laughing call of Chu hua-aa, with a quaver in the second note.
  • Brown Wood Owl, Strix leptogrammica
  • Tawny Owl, Strix aluco
  • Hume’s Owl, Strix butleri
  • Spotted Owl, Strix occidentalis
  • Barred Owl, Strix varia
  • Fulvous Owl, Strix fulvescens
  • Rusty-barred Owl, Strix hylophila
  • Rufous-legged Owl, Strix rufipes
  • Chaco Owl, Strix chacoensis
  • Ural Owl, Strix uralensis
  • Pere David’s Owl, Strix davidi
  • Great Grey Owl, Strix nebulosa
  • African Wood Owl, Strix woodfordii

More Owl Information

Photo of author

Team Beauty of Birds

Beautyofbirds.com's team of experts includes veterinarians, biologists, environmentalists and active bird watchers. All put together, we have over half a century of experience in the birding space.

You can meet our team here.